**Dominion Coal Board.**—The Board, established as a department in 1947 by the Dominion Coal Board Act (RSC 1952, c. 86), has the responsibility of studying and recommending to the Government policies concerning the production, import, distribution and use of coal. The Chairman has the status of a deputy minister and the Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys. The Board administers transportation and other subventions relating to coal, including those under the Atlantic Provinces Power Development Act (SC 1957-58, c. 25). It also administers loans authorized under the Coal Production Assistance Act (RSC 1952, c. 173, as amended by SC 1959, c. 39). The Dominion Coal Board Act makes provision for the regulation and control of the production, distribution and use of fuel in times of national emergency.

**Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.**—The Board was appointed in 1947 under the Eastern Rocky Mountain Forest Conservation Act which authorized an agreement between the Government of Canada and the Province of Alberta relating to the protection and conservation of the forests of that portion of the eastern slope of the Rocky Mountains which gives rise to the major tributaries of the Saskatchewan River. The function of the Board is to determine the policy necessary to obtain the greatest possible flow of water in the Saskatchewan River system. The planning of programs of forest use and conservation is a joint duty of the Board and the provincial Forest Service. The administration of the conservation area is a function of the province.

Funds for capital expenditures during the first seven years of the agreement were provided by the Federal Government with maintenance expenditures being paid by the Province of Alberta. In 1955 the province undertook the responsibility of financing both capital improvements and maintenance work. Currently, one member of the three-man Board is appointed by the Federal Government and the province has the right to appoint two members. The choice of one of the three members as Board chairman is vested in the province. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minster of Forestry. (See footnote, p. 102.)

**Eldorado Aviation Limited.**—This company was incorporated Apr. 23, 1953 to carry air traffic, both passenger and freight, for Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited and its wholly owned subsidiary, Northern Transportation Company Limited. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited.—Set up in 1944 under the name of Eldorado Mining and Refining (1944) Limited (the date was omitted from the name in June 1952), the company's business is the mining and refining of uranium and the production of nuclear fuels in Canada. The company has also entered into contracts for the purchase of uranium concentrates from private producers in Canada. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

**Export Credits Insurance Corporation.**—This Corporation commenced operations in 1945 under the Export Credits Insurance Act, 1944 (RSC 1952, c. 105, as amended by 1953-54 c. 15, 1957 c. 8, 1957-58 c. 15, 1959 c. 24, and 1960-61 c. 33) and is administered by a Board of Directors (including the Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce and the Deputy Minister of Finance) with the advice of an Advisory Council. Its function is to insure Canadian exporters against non-payment by foreign buyers arising out of credit and political risks involved in foreign trade. The Corporation is also authorized to provide financing in respect of an export transaction involving extended credit terms. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

**Farm Credit Corporation.**—This Corporation was established on Oct. 5, 1959 (SC 1959, c. 43) for the purpose of providing for the extension of long-term mortgage credit to farmers. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

Fisheries Prices Support Board.—The Board was set up in July 1947 (RSC 1952, c. 120) to recommend to the Government price support measures when severe price declines occur. The Board functions under the direction of the Minister of Fisheries and consists of a chairman, who is a senior officer of the Department of Fisheries, and five members chosen from private and cooperative firms in the industry. The Board has authority to buy fishery products and to sell or otherwise dispose of them or to pay producers the difference between a price prescribed by the Board and the average price the product actually commands.

Industrial Development Bank.—The Bank, a subsidiary of the Bank of Canada, was incorporated in 1944 to provide loans to industrial enterprises where financing is not available through recognized lending organizations. (See footnote, p. 102.)

National Battlefields Commission.—This Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1908 to preserve the historic battlefields at Quebec City. The Commission is composed of nine members, seven being appointed by the Federal Government and one each by the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The Commission is supported by an annual statutory grant from the Federal Government and is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources.